How to Homeschool Part 2
Part 2: Rules and Laws
*Please be aware that you should always check the homeschool laws in your specific county/state before homeschooling*
Last weeks in our blog How to Homeschool Part 1 we were talking about "Getting Started with Homeschooling" and our "Why?"
Now let’s talk about what you need to do legally to get started with homeschooling. The first thing you want to do when you decide to homeschool is check the specific laws in your state.
Activity Time: Find out the laws in your state and take notes on what the rules are for homeschooling below. https://hslda.org/legal
In Florida we file something called a Letter of Intent. This is a short form or letter notifying the county you reside in that you will be homeschooling. Most counties have specific forms you can use, but you can also create your own letter if you would like to. Attached you will find a copy of Broward County’s form.
Here are the requirements to start homeschooling in Florida:
By law, your letter of intent should be done by the time the child turns 6 by February 1st of any school year, but some parents decide to do it by the time their children are 5 years of age.
You must do this within 30 days of establishing your homeschool
Also be sure to withdraw your child from their public school if they were previously enrolled.
In the county of Broward, you can find the form here: https://www.browardschools.com/cms/lib/FL01803656/Centricity/domain/13538/home%20ed/Notice%20Of%20Intent.pdf You can either email or send this to the address on the form.
Homework: Find out your homeschool style by taking this quiz. Write the type of homeschooler you are.
Homeschool 101 Workbook
Presented by Kind Academy Founder : Iman Alleyne